And here we go again!

Welcome to the NEW AND IMPROVED version of From Chief’s Desk, the awesome blog posting where I, Chief K. Tsuku, talk about the mystery and magic that happens behind the scenes or just try to get you all up to speed on the series. Maybe I’ll even rant and rave a little! For today I’m going to talk a little bit about a topic that is rapidly become one of my most hated, the lineage of the Foxes of Luck series, aka the Katajion crap.

Today’s topic comes from the notorious trend that I’ve been noticing out of the reviewers and a recent interview with Vns Now. One thing I heard again, and again, and again, and again for the release of Anton’s Vacation was the info dump I had to force upon the audience. It hurt, I know, but I tried to fool myself to think that it was well done and that it wouldn’t bother everyone. Silly me! I might as well have been setting babies on fire for the positive reaction I got. Why, I asked myself. Would they rather have been completely in the dark about what happened earlier in the series? I’m not going to fool myself and think that they all have read the previous books and are well-versed in the antics of Anton Rogers and team. I’ll just quickly bring them up to speed in episode one and then run with it from there. Then it hit me! Everyone was under the impression that Anton’s Vacation was the first of the series, not the final chapter. Oh crap, I realized today. I never made that clear.

Folks, the chronological order of the Generation Two of Foxes of Luck goes as follows.
New World
Tanamon’s War Trilogy
Blueslend Revolution
Rising Angels
Katajion’s Dream
Morterous Theorem
Luck and Chance
Anton’s Vacation

I’m sorry to those whom I might have misled that because AV was the first (released) visual novel of the series that it was the starting point. It wasn’t. Honestly, it is the final chapter, and more of a wrap-up than the usual drama of the series. Looking back, I should have understood that as the only person who knows the series, this was going to happen. Time to change that! Let’s go down the list and see what you missed when you jumped into Anton’s Vacation.


New World:
Highlights- Anton Rogers is involved in a car crash in the early 2000s that puts him into a coma. Per a deal with the local university, his body is used in a cryonics experiment. He is awoken in 2590s to a universe at war.
Anton meets Commander of the Wings Komi Tsuku, Asst. Director Sora Doichu, and Agent Syl Logivechk leading to his first interaction with the Directorship. Anton flees the Directorship after behind-the-scenes talks between the other directors plan on assassinating him.
After negotiations with the Board of Directors, Anton assumes his title of Supreme Commander, though purely in name only.
Why you can’t read it? The only copies were lost during a car crash [IRONY] that destroyed the hard drive and paper copies.

Tanamon’s War:
Highlights- Komi, Sora, Adm. Trigin, Anton, Syl, and a small task force are sent to bring the planet of Trinin into the Directorship. The diplomacy team are ambushed and cut off from rest of the universe. After joining up with the local rebellion, the diplomacy team helps them overthrow the government… and then are betrayed again.
Through technological superiority, tactics, and determination, the team is able to call for backup and subdues the planet.
Why you can’t read it? Never finished other than the outlines and a few pages of script.

Blueslend Revolution:
Highlights- Anton, Syl, and a SF officer called Arnold Reks are send to serve as observers during a revolution on a planet of magic users.
Anton discovers corruption throughout the ranks and is put on a narrow ledge between serving the directorship and protecting its people.
Why you can’t read it? All but two pages were lost in the car crash.

Rising Angels:
Highlights- Lenna and Yoi attend the Katajion Space Academy, which is their first introduction to the series.
RA doesn’t really interact with the rest of the series other than setting up some of the cast of Katjion’s Dream.
Why you can’t read it? It’s still being written right now.

Katajion’s Dream:
Highlights- The first grouping of Anton, Lenna, Name, Yoi, and Syl. Lenna is tasked with helping Anton, who is investigating more corruption in the Directorship. Name is met at the academy and answers the call for recruits, despite her disliked of all parties involved.
Dir. Zealeuos is revealed to be a traitor and kills Lenna during the final confrontation.
Name realizes that nothing she does will ever lead her to her dreams of universe domination and flees.
Anton and Yoi start dating at the end of the book, despite her numerous attempts to kill him throughout the book.
Why can’t you read it? You can, but I haven’t rereleased the version. I’m thinking of doing a chapter by chapter release of it soon. See below,

Morterous Theorem:
Highlights- The story goes into what happened to modern society on Earth and how the universe developed into the way it is today.
Name rejoins the team after being found on Morterous and helps capture Dr. Erika Bruger.
Yoi and Anton break up after both of them conclude that their relationship isn’t going anywhere.
Why you can’t read it? This was the first FoL visual novel. However, before it was released, the only copy of it was deleted by someone I lent my computer to use.

Luck and Chance:
Highlights- Anton is put in charge of the Phoenix Investigation Squad. Before he can assume complete control, the P.I.S is bombed and Anton is kidnapped. Syl, Name, and Yoi go after him.
Anton manages to save himself, though the rest of his team makes it possible. It is discovered that he was kidnapped to prevent the signing of the treaty and ending the war between the Raltin Empire and Katajion Directorship.
Why you can’t read it? Never finished.

Looking back, I think releasing the final piece without the rest of them was not the smartest move in the world. Now I’ve got to decide on how I am going to resolve this issue. The first idea is to just dump the series and go along my merry way with something new and exciting. As tempting as that is, I’ve done that too many times over the years. So, I was thinking that we should start going back through the key parts of the series and releasing them once more to my fans. Starting this upcoming Friday and for every Friday afterward, I will be releasing a chapter of the Foxes of Luck series.

Well, that is all for this week’s episode. Stay tuned next Friday for our first chapter and next Sunday for our next behind-the-scenes showing. This is Chief K. Tsuku signing out!

But before that, here’s the video o’ the post! Well, not so much a video as something you need to listen to.
Greatest thing you will hear today